Global Essay Competition

Compete in our Global Essay Competition and qualify for participation as a Leader of Tomorrow in the world’s premier opportunity for cross-generational debates: The St. Gallen Symposium.

Meet 300 of society’s brightest young minds. Present and debate your ideas with 600 senior leaders. Be inspired by some of the world’s most impressive speakers. Gain a unique and new perspective on this year’s topic. Become a member of a unique global community. Participate in the symposium with us. Win prize money of CHF 20,000 split amongst the three winners.

Topic Question

Meet us and ask your questions!

Meet our student representatives to learn how you can qualify for a participation in the 51st St. Gallen Symposium. We will have physical presentations at your university again as well as regular webinars to answer your questions!

University Information Sessions & Presentations

Please note that this list will be updated regularly and is subject to change. Dates and Universities listed  in Italic are not yet confirmed, but a visit there is likely and is being planned.

Western Europe
Northern Europe
Southern Europe
Canada
United States of America
India

Information Webinars

Every week, the Leaders of Tomorrow Team will hold an info session regarding the Essay Competition. You can register by clicking on the respective link.
Please note that all times are indicated in the Central European Time (CET).

DateTimeRegistration LinkAdd to Calendar
02.12.202118:00over
09.12.202112:00over
16.12.202123:00 (6pm EST/ 3pm PST)Zoom
Meeting ID: 661 0403 1524
Passcode: symposium
Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo
07.01.202202:00 (9pm EST/ 6pm PST)Zoom
Meeting ID: 654 3524 4664
Passcode: symposium
Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo
13.01.202219:00 (1pm EST/ 10am PST)Zoom
Meeting ID: 622 9103 9422
No passcode
20.01.202211:00 (5am EST/ 2am PST) Zoom
Meeting ID: 668 1528 1954
Passcode: 536832
27.01.202220:00 (2pm EST/ 11am PST) Zoom
Meeting ID: 619 1188 4350
Passcode: 113364

Past Winners & Essay Reviews

Out of approx. 1,000 annual contributions submitted by graduate and post-graduate students from all around the globe, the jury selects three winner essays every year. Meet our competition’s past winners and read their contributions.

Prerequisites

Qualify with an excellent essay

We expect a professional, creative and thought-provoking essay. Be bold, unconventional, and distinctive on the competition question.

For your contribution to be valid, the following criteria must be met
FormEssay (max. 2,100 words, excl. abstract, bibliography, and footnotes)
LanguageEnglish
Deadline1 February 2022, 11:59 p.m. last time zone (UTC-12)
AnonymityYour name, e-mail address, university, or any identifying details must not be mentioned anywhere in the contribution file.
IndividualityIndividual work expected, no group work allowed. The essay must be written exclusively for this contest. The idea must be the author’s own.
CitationAll sources must be cited and referred to the respective part in the essay. All contributions will be tested for plagiarism.
TemplateDownload Template for the Global Essay Competition

Partaking in the competition was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Not only was I able to come to St. Gallen and meet incredible young entrepreneurs and leaders who I’m still in contact with, but it provided me the opportunity to develop and share ideas with key decision-makers. The main idea I submitted was for a new way to finance retraining and healthcare at no cost to individuals or governments. Given the COVID- 19 pandemic, this idea is needed now more than ever, so I’m currently implementing the idea through a new organization I’ve established called FORTE (Financing Of Return To Employment).

NAT WARE Founder & CEO of FORTE, Leader of Tomorrow at the 47th and 48th St. Gallen Symposium

Check your eligibility and prepare documents

To be eligible, you must fulfill all of the following criteria:
  • Enrolled in a graduate or postgraduate programme (master level or higher) in any field of study at a regular university
  • Born in 1992 or later
Make sure you can provide the following documents:
  • Copy of passport or other identification (in English for non-Roman languages)
  • Confirmation of matriculation/enrolment from your university which proves your enrollment in a graduate/postgraduate level programme as of 1 February 2022 (download sample document here)
  • Your contribution file with no indication of your name in the file name, the file metadata or the file itself

If problems occur during registration, please clear your cached images and files in your browsing history or consider using the browser Google Chrome. If you still cannot apply, use the following link. For any unanswered questions please contact us via e-mail at leadersoftomorrow@symposium.org

Accompanying a Leader of Tomorrow

FAQs

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter